Repo Chick

Repo Chick

Film review by: Witney Seibold

Alex Cox‘s gorgeously bugnuts punkrock 1984 sci-fi odyssey “Repo Man” entered my life at a late date. I was 30 by the time I saw it for the first time, and I loved it so much, I began to regret not having seen it at age 18, when it could have carried a great deal of my teenage sensibilities. But I did see it, and I’m glad to have done so. It sparked a marathon of Cox’s other films, and I became familiar with this stellar/mad mind, and was given a another cult password to whisper quietly to other initiates. (more…)

Published in: on January 31, 2011 at 1:55 pm  Leave a Comment  

No Strings Attached

No Strings Attached

Film review by: Witney Seibold

The ad campaign for “No Strings Attached” stressed a sex negativity that I was not entirely comfortable with. (more…)

Published in: on January 31, 2011 at 1:37 pm  Leave a Comment  

The Way Back

The Way Back

Film review by: Witney Seibold

As at atmospheric exercise, Peter Weir‘s “The Way Back” is first rate. (more…)

Published in: on January 31, 2011 at 1:32 pm  Leave a Comment  

Doubling Up: Suggested Double Features for the 2010 Best Picture Oscar Nominees

Doubling Up: Suggested Double Features for the 2010 Best Picture Oscar Nominees

Article by: Witney Seibold

The nominees for the 2010 Academy Awards were, as of this posting, announced last week at 5:35 A.M. Despite my openly acknowledging that the Academy Awards are more like a Super Bowl party than a serious critical analysis of the best films of the year, I still follow the ceremonies closely, and enjoy placing bets, making predictions, and watching the ceremony live on TV. (more…)

Published in: on January 31, 2011 at 12:44 am  Leave a Comment