Repo Chick

Repo Chick

Film review by: Witney Seibold

Alex Cox‘s gorgeously bugnuts punkrock 1984 sci-fi odyssey “Repo Man” entered my life at a late date. I was 30 by the time I saw it for the first time, and I loved it so much, I began to regret not having seen it at age 18, when it could have carried a great deal of my teenage sensibilities. But I did see it, and I’m glad to have done so. It sparked a marathon of Cox’s other films, and I became familiar with this stellar/mad mind, and was given a another cult password to whisper quietly to other initiates.

 

It was with understandable excitement that I approached his 27-year-after-the-fact quasi-sequel “Repo Chick,” which will be released on home video this week. I have viewed it and was thoroughly baffled and a little disappointed. The good people at Geekscape have read over my review, and published it on their site, which can be accessed through the link below.

 

http://www.geekscape.net/geekscape-movie-reviews-repo-chick.html

 

Read it over, if you please, and learn about this oddity from a once prominant, always fascinating, and strangely diminished filmmaker.

 

I feel a little bad about giving “Repo Chick” a less-than-stellar review, as it was bad reviews that drove Cox into exile in the first place. I like to see him working in the underground, and I encourage him to continue to do what he does. I just hopehis next film is better than “Repo Chick.”


Published in: on January 31, 2011 at 1:55 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://witneyman.wordpress.com/2011/01/31/repo-chick/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

