The Top-10 Movie Gimmicks

The Top-10 Movie Gimmicks

Article by: Witney Seibold

 

We’ve all noticed the unfortunate proliferation of 3-D, haven’t we? I say “unfortunate” because I feel that Hollywood has been doing it wrong. They tend to market big action blockbusters and jumpy tweener CGI comedies with 3-D attached in a desperate attempt to inflate ticket prices. My philosophy is that if you’re going to use a gimmick, use it for the movies that reflect its gimmickry. Film gimmicks can be awesome if used right, and film history is littered with weirdo gimmicks (failed and otherwise) that have elevated their odd genre films into legitimate footnotes.

 

For Geekscape, and culled from my twisted little filmic mind, I have assembled the following list of great movie gimmicks. I apologize for not including some; I didn’t want to hammer away too much at William Castle; he deserves an article all his own.

 

Read the article at this link:

http://www.geekscape.net/the-top-10-best-movie-theater-gimmicks.html

 

I encourage you to leave comments, of course, and to take me to task. Honestly. Take me to task.

Published in: on August 1, 2011 at 12:35 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://witneyman.wordpress.com/2011/08/01/the-top-10-movie-gimmicks/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

